Never miss out

Get your regular E-Bulletin packed with updates and offers

Register now
< Back to news 31 January, 2012

beacon supplier awards - winner announced

beacon are pleased to announce the winners of its fourth annual beacon supplier awards, which were held on Sunday, 22nd January 2012 at the Lancaster London hotel.

The 2012 beacon supplier awards recognised supplier excellence in five key areas: food, drink, non-food, services, and corporate responsibility. Winners of a Community Award and the beacon Special Recognition Award were also selected.

The Best Food Supplier Award was won by 3663, which was commended for its bespoke pricing deals and excellent customer engagement. The judges  praised 3663 for the manner in which the company reached out to its customer base, working in close collaboration with beacon.

The Best Drink Supplier Award went to independent coffee roaster Matthew Algie, whose ‘excellent call-out time’ and overall approach impressed the judges, with a highly recommended citation awarded to premium drinks supplier Matthew Clark for what one judge said was a customer service ethos and delivery that added greatly to the customer experience.

The Best Non-Food Supplier Award went to Diversey, supplier of industrial and commercial cleaning supplies and services. The company was applauded for going the extra mile in providing innovative customer benefits. Judges complimented the company on its focussed and personalised service.

Energy supplier Calor walked away with the Best Services Award, particularly for their customer-centred ‘winter price fix’. Judges commended the company for the wide extent of their customer advice. The highly commended award went to Pyrotec, the fire safety management firm.

Coca Cola fetched the Responsible Supplier Award, particularly for their investment in their own recycling plant, described by judges as ‘stunning’.

The Community Award, specially created to highlight recognition from the judging panel, was given to M&J Seafood. Judges cited how the company not only started the agenda on sustainable seafood but helped to drive it forward.

The beacon Special Recognition Award went to Matthew Clark. Diane Webster, Beacon Director of Marketing, said, ‘They are truly an extension of the beacon team and their responsiveness to us and to customers is outstanding. They constantly grow their offering.’

Chris Durant, Beacon Managing Director, said, ‘I’m delighted to see that year after year the beacon supplier awards attracts entries from great suppliers across the UK across a range of important categories. Companies operating in hospitality, leisure and healthcare depend so much on their suppliers to be able to deliver the quality products and services their customers look for, particularly in an economic period when value is paramount. beacon wants to give recognition to the suppliers who work to make a real difference.’

To judge the fourth annual beacon supplier awards, beacon assembled a distinguished group of judges. The judges were environmental expert Dr Rebecca Hawkins; Mark Lewis, Editor of Caterer & Hotelkeeper; Chris Penn, General Manager of the Flemings Mayfair hotel; Cyrus Todiwala OBE, Chef Patron of Cafe Spice Namaste and Mr Todiwala’s Kitchen; and Chris Sheppardson, Managing Director of Chess Partnership. Diane Webster, Beacon Director of Marketing, chaired the panel.

Winners will be mentioned in the 2012 beacon directory and have use of the beacon winner logo in their company materials.

Below is the full list of 2012 beacon supplier award winners, as well as the highly commended suppliers:

beacon Special Recognition Award
Winner – Matthew Clark

Best Food Supplier
Winner – 3663

Best Drink Supplier
Winner – Matthew Algie
Highly Commended – Matthew Clark

Best Non-Food Supplier
Winner – Diversey

Best Services Supplier
Winner – Calor
Highly Commended - Pyrotec

Responsible Supplier
Winner – Calor

Community Award
M&J Seafood